Island Treasures: The Amelia Island Lighthouse
Updated: Jan 31
We love this island and all of the treasures it holds! One of the hidden gems of Amelia is the lighthouse.
Fondly referred to as "Amelia's Light", the Amelia Island Lighthouse is the oldest existing lighthouse in the state of Florida in the United States. It marks St. Marys Entrance, the inlet leading to St. Marys River, the Cumberland Sound and the harbor of Fernandina Beach. The white light flashes every ten seconds which turns red from 344° to 360° when covering the shoal water in the vicinity of Nassau Sound. It's light can still be seen 16 miles out to sea! The lighthouse was originally built in 1820 and stood on Cumberland Island. In 1838, the lighthouse was taken down brick by brick and rebuilt on the highest point of Amelia Island, where it stands today. Many mariners were not happy with the placement here, feeling that the location is not helpful to navigating into the inlet and in fact is harmful, making ships head for it and then realizing that it is not on the outside of the land mass. The lighthouse was automated in 1970, and while the tower is still in operation, the lighthouse is not currently open to the public. The Amelia Island lighthouse is but one island treasure you can view from the water on our Sea Life Adventure self-guided and guided kayak tour!